What People Say About Us

On this page you will find a selection of testimonials from our visitors who have stayed with us from all around the world as well as reviews from the many participants on our courses. We would always welcome, and very much appreciate, you leaving or emailing a testimonial if you have been happy with your stay or with the course that you attended.

  • What a wonderful and relaxing 2 days - the Hayloft has been such a treat!  The hamper and extra birthday treats were a lovely surprise - thank you Sherry.  We have sat in front of the log burner, bubbled in the bath and kneaded on our own private bread course!  We will be back!

    Kate & Matt, Hayloft, February 2018
  • Thank you every so much.  Dawn & myself had an absolutely splendid time.  So many quirky features, it was wonderful.  Also the hamper and the food provided was a special touch.  WE loved the bath - that was truly something else!

    Tom & Dawn, Hayloft, January 2018
  • We can't thank you enough! We had an incredible few days - I couldn't have wished for a better birthday...The hamper was amazing and a really really lovely touch.  We enjoyed everything so much.  The fire is beautiful - as is the whole of the Hayloft, and THAT BATH! We'll absolutely be back.  What a stunning little gem you have here!  Thank you again, so, so much!

    Lace & Calllum, Hayloft, January 2018
  • Thank you for a wonderful stay, the hamper was a lovely surprise and you've been great hosts.  Sad to leave.

    Sonia & Neil, Bothy, January 2018
  • What a fantastic few hours we have had learning to make bread together with sherry - such an incredible teacher who made us feel so welcome.  We had great fun & the children are looking forward to sampling it!

    Kate & Matt, Bread Making Day for Beginners, February 2018
  • Chocolate Heaven!  Thank you for letting me try dairy-free ganache.  Excellent find!

    Luan, Chocolate Making Workshop, January 2018
  • Thank you for a lovely day (with lots of chocolate!) x

    Tracey & Sally, Chocolate Making Workshop, January 2018
  • Absolutely fabulous day - loved every minute!! Learnt a lot, laughed a lot and will definitely return for another day - so warm and welcoming.  Many thanks.

    Maggie, Baking with Apples & Oranges, January 2018
  • Such a fab day - thank you so much for all your help and hospitality!  We all truly felt at home.  The course has such variety the time flew!  I'll definitely be back.

    Sophie, Boozy Breads, January 2018
  • What a lovely day it has been, thank you so much Sherry for being so kind and accommodating.  I have thoroughly enjoyed the day and baked some fabulous bread.  Fabulous food made by Sherry for lunch and wonderful wine.  We will be back.

    Sarah, Boozy Breads, January 2018
  • A lovely day spent eating, drinking and baking.  A fabulous way to spend a Sunday.

    Fran, Boozy Breads, January 2018
  • Thank you for our wonderful stay in the Bothy.  We enjoyed playing Scrabble by the fire & watching films...Lovely hamper from our lovely hosts.

    Eilis & Harry, Bothy, December 2017
  • The Bothy has been a lovely cosy base whilst visiting the local area...Lovely hosts only too willing to help with anything you need.

    Stephen & Dianne, Bothy, December 2017
  • We loved our stay!  What a special place.  Loved the food you provided and the bath was sublime...Such a lovely stay, will be returning!

    The Bradburys, Hayloft, December 2017
  • Christmas Hamper Day - what a fabulous idea, the hampers look amazing and it was fun to make everything.  Very tasty and great Christmas aromas.  Thank you.

    Linda, Home-made Christmas Hampers, December 2017
  • Thank you for another fabulous day.  We have so many lovely things to take  home.

    Sheila, Christmas Breads, December 2017
  • A great start to the Christmas season.  Lovely people, lovely food, lovely teacher and lots to take home.  Thank you.

    Jo, Christmas Breads, December 2017
  • We stayed in the Bothy last year, but the Hayloft is equally amazing...A perfect retreat from busy lives.  The chance to relax in the wonderful bath and unwind in front of the woodburner.  We've stayed in many self catering places, but this will always be our favourite.  Many thanks.

    Jo & Jeff, Hayloft, November 2017
  • Very cosy little place made to feel at home, lovely atmosphere, fabulous little gem!  Amazing little break.  Thank you so much.  Will definitely recommend!  Will definitely return!

    Aimee & Keiran, Hayloft, November 2017
  • Thank you for a really lovely stay.  This is a wonderful retreat & the woodburner makes it beautifully cosy.  Aidan enjoyed the bread making course and kept me supplied with goodies throughout the day & I had some quiet time to myself.  You have made the Hayloft a perfect place.  Thank you.

    Kath & Aidan, Hayloft, November 2017
  • Thank you for a beautiful homely place to stay.  It was so perfect, all the small details make a big difference.  Loved the jam! ...thank you.  We will be back.

    Trudy, Jamie, Lauren & Oliver, Hayloft, October 2017
  • 1st timers to Lincolnshire and can safely say we will be back and specifically back to the Hayloft!  Super place - so relaxing & quiet and perfectly placed to see the whole county.  Lovely to meet Irven & Sherry...See you again soon.

    Laura & Calvin, Hayloft, September 2017
  • Our first visit to the Hayloft...Five stars do not do it justice.  From the welcome hamper, every detail thought of, to the incredible bath with twinkling lights.  The four of us have had a fantastic family time in a beautiful place.  This may have been our first visit but will definitely not be our last.  Next time we hope to bring all the family and enjoy the Bothy too.

    The Watts, Hayloft, September 2017
  • It has been a real pleasure staying here.  The Hayloft is a truly delightful & charming place, everything you need for a warm & relaxing stay....We want to say thank you for our stay & all the extras you provided, they were really appreciated.  Thank you again.

    Dawn & Barrie, Hayloft, September 2017
  • Just want to say a massive Thank you to both.  What an amazing little place this is.  We have loved every minute of our mini birthday break. We were made to feel very welcome...

    Danielle & John, Bothy, November 2107
  • Thank you so much for a wonderful relaxing place.  We loved the Bothy and all the little touches you have included.  It was a last minute weekend away and luckily found your gorgeous place, tempted mostly by the pictures of the amazing bath and we were not disappointed!  Thank you for all the delicious food and the incredibly cosy fireplace.  We loved reading about the restoration and how you made sure it was as sustainable and environmentally friendly as possible.  Thanks so much.

    Hanna & Tim, Bothy, October 2017
  • As promised last year - this was our 3rd stay.  Fabulous as ever & I'm sure we will be back soon!

    Charlotte & Steve, Bothy, October 2017
  • Thank you both so much for our lovely few days in the Bothy.  Your cottage is absolutely beautiful and we could happily live here for ever!  Needless to say, we plan to return...

    John, Carolynn & Zena, Bothy, September 2017
  • Thank you very much for a lovely, comfortable, unique place to spend a few peaceful days.  We really needed to relax and enjoy which we have done.  Can't think of anything which wasn't there if we needed it.  It is extremely well equipped.

    Angus & Jean, Bothy, September 2017
  • Thank you so much for such a warm welcome into your cosy cottage.  Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing!  The Bothy is utterly charming - you have renovated it sympathetically and thoughtfully - there's nothing we could think of to add to what you've already done - you've thought of everything!  From your initial contact, through to your follow up and the most generous welcome hamper - it's all been exemplary.  Many congratulations - extremely well done!

    Steve & Jo, Bothy, September 2017
  • Today is the day when I started to learn to bake bread.  Thank you for being such a great teacher.

    Poppy, Bread Making Day for Beginners, November 2017
  • I can actually bake bread now!  Fun and informative.  Thanks Sherry

    Ellie, Bread Making Day for Beginners, November 2017
  • Thank you for sharing your passion & skills with us and helping us all walk away with having learned a new trick plus bags of delicious chocolates that we couldn't believe we made!  Lovely day and amazing venue to spend the day in.

    Sam, Chocolate Making Day, November 2017
  • Really enjoyable day with lots of fabulous treats to take away.  Delicious lunch!

    Caroline, Chocolate Making Day, November 2017
  • Great day, great company and great fun.  Really enjoyed my second course here and will be back.  Many many thanks.

    Jane & Annette, Baking with Apples & Oranges, November 2017
  • Great course, good fun and a lovely day.  Thank you Sherry.

    Julie, Boozy Breads, October 2017
  • Fantastic Boozy Bread making with a group from RAFC Cranwell.  excellent tutor, we'll be returning very soon.  Thank you!

    Fiona, Cat, Mel, Carl, Sam, Boozy Breads, September 2017
  • This was a birthday present from my husband.  I attended with my sister from the Sates.  Absolutely loved the course, learnt so much, atmosphere was brilliant.  Thank you Sherry.

    Sarah & Sonja, Bread Making Day for Beginners, September 2017
  • We have had a wonderful 4 days here and wish we could stay longer.  The Hayloft must surely be one of the best equipped and most comfortable places we have stayed in in the UK. Thank you so much for the wonderful vegies and all the extras!

    Jean & Chris, South Africa, Hayloft, August 2017
  • Enjoyed our stay here.  There is nothing Sherry and Irven have not thought about.  The place is so homely & quiet and thank you for the goodies.

    Mark, Ruth & Brandy, Hayloft, August 2017
  • Another perfect stay... We've relaxed, swam in the bath, eaten & played together.  2 days feels like a lifetime (in a good way).  Can't wait until the next time.

    The Cases, Hayloft, July 2017
  • Thank you so much!  The Hayloft exceeded our expectations & was cosy, comfortable & well-equipped.  A tranquil & convenient place to stay whilst my son was at Coningsby for the week.

    Jo, Alan & Jasper, Hayloft, July 2017
  • Thank you for a wonderful relaxing stay.  The Hayloft is an amazing little hideaway with everything you need to take yourselves out of a busy life and relax for a few days.... Thanks again.

    The Richards, Hayloft, June 2017
  • Thank you for a beautiful place to spend precious time together before our first baby is born.  We have had a truly peaceful & relaxing break away & the thoughtful touches you add are much appreciated & make it extra special.

    Niki, Grant & Wiggle, Hayloft, April 2017
  • Fabulous stay at the Bothy.  Welcome pack was so thoughtful and lovely and everything about the property is gorgeous!  We don't want to go home!  Cosy, quirky & quiet!  PERFECT!  P.S. Eddie loved it too!  Woof

    Sophie, Thomas & Eddie the Dog, Bothy, August 2017
  • I found out we were staying here when we first pulled up outside...Leo had secretly booked 'The Bothy' as a surprise.  Instantly we both relaxed and knew it was 'our kind of place' to stay; clean, equipped, cosy & quirky!  All the things the previous holiday rental found to be lacking!! ..First night meal very yummy, welcome packs were a lovely touch.  Thank you.  Ollie also felt very at home.

    Carys, Leo & Ollie the Dog, Bothy, May 2017
  • A fantastic place to stay.  We really loved it.  I think my wife would love to live here!  We want to steal the bath... Thanks for letting us stay in such a fantastic place.

    Lloyd and Lana, Bothy, April 2017
  • Excellent!  Laughed until sore.  Learned loads. Baked.  Loved it.

    Mark, Boozy Breads, June 2017
  • Fabulous day - laughed so much & came away with amazing bread.  Will be back soon.

    Sam & Eli, Boozy Breads, June 2017
  • Thank you for such a fun time!  I never knew that making chocolate could be so rewarding.  Great tutor, will see you again soon.

    Lisa, Chocolate Making Workshop, April 2017
  • Had a lovely time, lovely company and fab host!  Never knew there was so much to making chocolate, will definitely recommend to friends!

    Linda, Chocolate Making Workhop, April 2017
  • Learnt loads!  A really fun, informative day.  Sherry is a fabulous teacher who really cares with lots of personality.  And the lunch!  Absolutely beautiful.  Loved every minute of it.  Thanks so much!  Will definitely recommend & hope to be back as soon as possible!

    Clare, Natural Beauty, April 2017
  • What a wonderful place to be!  We were looking for a cottage where we could enjoy a relaxing weekend away.  And the Hayloft was exactly what we were looking for!  Cozy wood burner and lovely bubble bath.  Thank you Sherry and Irven for your warm welcoming and hospitality.

    Eugenie & Jaehyuck, Hayloft, February 2017
  • We have had a truly wonderful time in Lincolnshire.  The Hayloft was simply perfect - made even more pleasurable by the attention to detail.  Fresh flowers, delicious hampers, wine & chocolate - not to mention the bathtub under the twinkly stars!...Thank you Sherry & Irven for making us feel very welcome...

    Carrie & Darren, Hayloft, February 2017
  • The Hayloft is just beautiful, exactly what we needed - a relaxing weekend away, just us.  The hamper, games, books - every detail is thought of and makes the Hayloft even more welcoming and special.  We hope to come back soon and enjoy all the other things the Manor House Stables has to offer.

    Domminie & Campbell, Hayloft, February 2017
  • Thank you very much for a lovely stay.  The cottage is beautifully decorated with every attention to detail made and a perfect place to relax.  We felt very welcome.

    Katerhine & Elliott, Hayloft, January 2017
  • A wonderful little find for a weekend away.  Such a cosy little cottage, everything you could want and more provided.  The bath is simply amazing!  Great for our dog too with the enclosed garden...A great weekend in a part of England we hadn't visited before.  Thank you.

    Jen, Ian & Kenny the Dog, March 2017
  • Great stay in the Bothy.  We loved the welcome hamper, the fire and the fabulous bathroom...

    Karen, Steve & Luke, Bothy, February 2017
  • This is our first stay but hopefully not our last.  The Bothy was fab and quirky and the wooden bath was the perfect end to our busy day learning to make bread.  Everything we could have wanted was here with a whole lot more and we have left feeling relaxed and totally chilled out...hope we see you again really soon.

    Keeley & Mark, Bothy, January 2017
  • Our third wonderful stay in the Bothy!  We chose it because we knew we would be able to instantly relax as soon as we walked through the door - and we were not disappointed.  From the delicious first night meal, to soaking in the wooden tub and the comfy bed, all was great.  The thing we enjoy the most is the ambience and sense of our every need being catered for.

    Jayne & Paul, Bothy, January 2017
  • Fabulous lesson!  Learnt how to make delicious healthy bread!  Would 100% recommend!

    Yasmin, Real Bread - the Healthy Options, March 2017
  • What a great day! We've been kept very busy and have gone home laden with the fruits of our labours and a better understanding of baking.  Thank you Sherry!

    Janet, Real bread - the Healthy Options, March 2017
  • Mum & I had a lovely day - jam packed with baking (and alcohol!).  Many thanks.

    Jessa and Gill, Boozy Bread & Jam, February 2017
  • Lovely day... great recipes to be tried again.  Cocktails, breads and jams, lovely company and a very enthusiastic teacher!  Many thanks.

    Siobhan, Boozy Bread & Jam, Feburary 2017
  • We've enjoyed a lovely day with Sherry making lots of boozy treats.  Great company & a great course, will recommend.

    Tracy, Boozy Breads, February 2017
  • Fabulous day baking bread with Sherry.  From the bread rolls to the tasty pizza for lunch - it's all been so enjoyable.  An entertaining day making new friends - plenty of laughs too.  Can thoroughly recommend this as a way to spend a day and make friends.

    Tracey, Judith, Jayne, Liz & Don, Bread Making Day
  • We booked for a 21st birthday gift experience day, needed to be able to include a 14 year old too.  What a wonderful family bonding day.  Lovely lunch and refreshments, wonderful hostess!  So much thought has gone into the whole experience.  We made lots of delicious chocolates and would highly recommend this to other people wishing to spend some quality time together.  A lovely memory to treasure!  With our thanks to Sherry.

    Vanessa, Ebony & Scarlet, Chocolate Making Day, February 2017
  • Fabulous time was had by all of us. Great fun, easy learning and wonderful bread to take home.  The pizza we made was delicious and as for Sherry's apple crumble, well.... you have to come along!

    Wendy & Steve, Bread Making Day for Beginners, February 2017
  • A great day, a great host and great company - thank you Sherry!

    Victoria, Bread Making Day for Beginners, February 2017
  • Had a wonderful time, great people, fantastic teacher!

    Adrian, Real Bread - the Healthy Options - January 2017
  • Great company, great fun, greatly informative! Such a packed day - looking forward to our next course!

    Alex & Jane, Real Bread, the Healthy Options, January 2017
  • Our first impression was amazing.  Still had the Christmas Spirit...Lincoln is stunning...We are determined to come back here and maybe even do a course or two!  Many thanks for a wonderful stay and we love all the little touches and effort you have made to make us feel welcomed.

    Darron & Becci, New Year 2017
  • WOW - what an amazing Christmas. Our 3rd time here and just as magical! ...Love love love this place, hoping we are here again Christmas 2018 - if not before!

    Hannah, Nel & Elliot, Hayloft, Christmas 2016
  • This is our first time in the area so there were lots of wonderful surprises, mainly this lovely accommodation.  The attention to detail really makes the Hayloft a cut above a 'usual' holiday let.  Thank yo and we will be back.

    Genieveve & Daniel, Hayloft, September 2016
  • What a fabulous place to come!  If decadence is sharing a bath with coffee in the morning and again in the evening with wine we have had a very decadent stay.  Thank you for all the extra little touches that made our stay here perfect...We will definitely be back again.

    Jo & Jeff, Bothy, November 2016
  • This place is amazing & exactly what we needed.  We'd come away essentially to hibernate for a few days, we're leaving feeling very refreshed!  Perfect hideaway!  Everything we could have needed was provided, trugs of goodies, log burner, little cubby hole to snuggle up & read in & that divine bath!  A few wines consumed in there!  Can't wait to come back!

    Charlotte, Emma & Toby, Bothy, November 2016
  • Thank you for a perfect place for a cosy autumn break...The Bothy is warm and snuggly and has everything needed for an easy, relaxing time away. Thank you for a lovely stay...

    Michael, Becki & Mary
  • This is our 2nd visit to the Both & everything still just as charming.  Only problem is the time toes too fast!! Can't wait for our 3rd visit!

    Charlotte & Steve, Bothy, October 2016
  • Thank you for such a wonderful stay at the Bothy....Your bread making course for 2 was superb and we enjoyed every minute of it.  We found the accommodation so relaxing & peaceful and really wish we were staying longer.  We hope to return in the near future.  The Bothy will forever be a special place for us with very happy memories.

    Hayley & Ash, Hayloft, October 2016
  • Sherry, what an amazing day!  We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and oh haven't we laughed!  Thank you for the very tasty lunch & pudding.  We love our Christmas wreaths & can't wait to hang them on our doors.  We will be back next year!

    Amy, Collette, Karen & Jenny, The All Natural Christmas Wreaths, December 2016
  • Wonderful day!  Made bread before but have learnt such a lot today.

    Mary, Bread Making Day for Beginners, October 2016
  • This is our third time staying in this lovely accommodation.  Every time it is a privilege to be here and every time we don't want to leave!  Thank you for everything!

    Ann, Steve, Voirrey & Juan, Hayloft, July 2016
  • Heaven in the 'Hayloft'. Beautifully relaxing accommodation and surroundings.  Our first time here and what a find!  We don't want to return home but the prospect of coming back to experience the charm of 'The Hayloft' will sustain us!  Cannot sufficiently praise the hospitality and exquisite attention to detail.  Thank you.

    Jonathan & Diane, June 2016
  • Our first wedding anniversary!  We have had a lovely stay, as always.  We have enjoyed some much needed 'us' time in this wonderful place.  I hope to return again next year!

    Mr & Mrs Barker-Monder, Hayloft, May 2016
  • This was our first time to the Manor House Stables and we have absolutely loved it.  Lovely food, gorgeous first night meal, beautiful accommodation and lots to see and do nearby.  We will be back again!

    Rebecca, Jan, Julie & Mavis, Hayloft, May 2016
  • Super course.  Delivered in such a charming & fun way.  Lovely setting & great recipes.  Thanks so much.

    Rosie, Bread making Day for Beginners, August 2016
  • A great day baking 'boozy breads'.  Lovey lunch and Sherry was great x

    Lois, Boozy Breads, August 2016
  • An exciting, informative and fun-filled day.  Dispel the myths of bread making, come to the Manor House Stables!

    Janet, Bread Making Day for Beginners, August 2016
  • What an amazing time, so much fin, came away with lots of luscious products.  Will definitely book again.  Thank you so much Sherry.

    Lisa, Lotions & Lavender, July 2016
  • Fab day & infectious enthusiasm made it fun x

    Angie, Chocolate making Workshop, June 2016
  • Fantastic time.  Loved every minute.

    Sue, Chocolate making Workshop, June 2016
  • Fabulous breads, fabulous lunch and a fabulous host!

    Lydia, Boozy Breads, May 2016
  • 8th visit!  Everything enjoyable again... Thank you again.

    Janet & Joanne, Bothy, August 2016
  • Thank you for a wonderful stay in the Bothy.  We have loved staying here, the place you have created is beautiful...

    Andrew, Kristine & Hannah, Bothy, August 2016
  • Wonderful peaceful retreat.  We have all had a fabulous time in Lincolnshire.  Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.  We loved your attention to detail!

    Jo, Helen & Alfie, Bothy, August 2016
  • Thank you for a wonderful stay - the 'Bothy' is lovely.  The welcome goodies were great.  We especially enjoyed the 'Boozy Bread' course and your hospitality was second to none.  Will definitely recommend this little gem to friends and family.

    Lois, Kelly & Lauren, Bothy, August 2016
  • A gem of a place, in a great part of the country.  We enjoyed every second we spent here. .., Thank you for probably the most enjoyable weekend we have had.

    John & Jan, Bothy, August 2016
  • Am so pleased I spent some time "googling" and came up with this wonderful find.  Absolutely love "The Bothy" - a perfect place for 2.  Had an excellent 3 days looking around various aircraft museums to celebrate Ian's "special" birthday.  Will definitely come back - so much more to see...

    Pauline & Ian, Bothy, July 2016
  • Just to say a huge thank you for such a wonderful stay and warm welcome.  The Bothy has been fabulous and we loved the beautiful furnishings and attention to detail.  The lovely hamper & trugs of fresh produce were so nice and with such a well stocked kitchen we need not have brought half of what we did!...The lavender course that I went on was such a highlight.. making all the wonderful beauty products...

    Ian & Sarah, Bothy - July 2016
  • What a lovely way to spend time here celebrating our wedding anniversary.  The accommodation is lovely and homely and the food hamper and other touches just gives it that extra lift.  Thank you Sherry and Irven. The bread and jam making course here was a day very well spent and the produce was delicious and yummy! We love the peace and tranquility of the place - living amongst nature in all its glory!

    Nicola & Cheuk, Bothy, June 2016
  • It was as much a pleasure to be back as all the times before - albeit too short.  Love the place, the warm welcome and the nice little touches. Hope to be back soon.

    Joanne, Germany, Bothy, June 2016
  • What a find!  The Bothy was everything we had hopped it would be and more.  Sherry and Irven are the best of hosts and nothing - absolutely nothing - is too much trouble.  Such a lovely place, fantastically stocked and beautifully furnished.  A real home from  home!...

    Debbie & Mike, Bothy, June 2016
  • We had a lovely time in the Bothy for our babymoon!  We loved cooking the fresh eggs, sausages and veggies and the oat crumble from the first night dinner was a real treat...

    Nita & Scott, USA, Bothy, May, 2016
  • Fab course, so informative.  We made some really lovely things... Thank you for all the goodies!

    Sam & Tracy, Natural Beauty course, April 2016
  • A fantastic day, learnt so much.  Sherry is very knowledgeable.... Thanks very much.

    Rebecca & Arun, Bread Making Day for Beginners, January 2016
  • An enjoyable day.  I learned lots, ate too much and enjoyed the company.  Will definitely come again.

    Ann, Breadmaking Day for Beginners, January 2016
  • ... A fun and very enjoyable day and lunch was fantastic!

    Julie, Deborah & Sheran, Apple Day Baking, October 2015
  • Super day...  Thanks Sherry, you are a great teacher!

    Helen, Boozy Breads, August 2015
  • Had a fab day and met lovely people.  Thank you!

    Hiliary, Reaping the Summer's Harvest, August 2015
  • Reaping the Summer's Harvest - very enjoyable & knowledgeable day, courgette pizza amazing!  Whole group lovely.  Thank you Sherry

    Elaine, Reaping the Summer's Harvest, August 2015
  • Absolutely fantastic day, learnt loads.  My life has completion now.

    Steve, Bread Making Day, Univeristy of Lincoln Team Building Day, July 2015
  • Bread and Jam course - what a fantastic day.  Learnt loads and wonderful company, excellent teaching.  Thanks Sherry

    Rachael, Bread & Jam, July 2015
  • My first ever course - very enjoyable with a lovely host - thank you Sherry.  Lunch was delicious.

    Martyn, Bread Making Universitiy of Lincoln Team Building Day, July 2015
  • Absolutely exceeded my expectations in every way, expert tuition, lots of laughs and a scrumptious lunch.  A wonderful day, many thanks Sherry - can't wait for the next one.

    Louise, Lotions & Lavender, July 2015
  • Came to the Lotions & Lavender day, absolutely wonderful!  Got some fantastic ideas for presents.  I can't wait to book onto my next course! xx

    Liana, Lotions & Lavender, July 2015
  • Lotions & Lavender course - my second course...amazed how much you can make in a day.  Looking forward to the next course.  Great time x

    Patricia, Lotions & Lavender, July 2015
  • A superb day on the Boozy Bread course.  Diverse recipes coupled with Sherry's enthusiasm not to mention the excellent lunch made the day fly by.

    Martin, Boozy Breads, July 2015
  • A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable day!  Lots of fun couples with many scrummy homemade treats to take home.  A very warm welcome and you can tell Sherry is extremely passionate about what she teaches - thank you!

    Lisa, Bread Making Day for Beginners, June 2015
  • What a lovely way to spend a relaxing enjoyable day.  Sherry is welcoming and very knowledgeable.  A great host.  I loved it, and I have a bag of goodies to take home along with lots of new knowledge.  Thank you.

    Jane, Bread Making Day for Beginners, June 2015
  • Beautiful place - liked it enormously and wish we could have stayed longer. The welcome and attention to detail were very much appreciated, thank you!  Must now find a reason to come back some time soon!

    Sam, Chris & Laura, March 2016
  • This has been our favourite holiday!  We absolutely love the Manor House Stables.  It was such a treat to have a beautiful meal cooked for us when we arrived.  We also loved all the food that was provided...Thank you Sherry for being so welcoming.  When can we move in?

    Jo & Kev, Hayloft, March 2016
  • What an incredible gem! From the moment we arrived and Sherry showed us around, this place had me spell bound! Such lovely attention to detail with the hamper, fresh veg and very tasty sausages in the fridge!  These touches were completely unexpected and made it even more special The Hayloft itself is incredible.  THAT BATH! I actually never want to leave here.  Thank you so much Sherry! x

    Hannah & Sam, Hayloft, March 2016
  • Many thanks for a fabulous week, so many thoughtful touches made it really special.  We have loved it all.

    Sue & Chris, Hayloft, March 2016
  • We have had an amazing time staying here.  There isn't anything you haven't thought of and its such a beautiful place.  Such a fantastic area with so much history.  A perfect way to celebrate my birthday.   You are amazing hosts and go above and beyond.  Nothing is too much trouble.  We will definitively return!

    Lynne, Dale & Toby, Bothy, December 2017
  • It was our first time in this area and the info provided by Sherry has been invaluable.  We loved the welcome hamper...We found the Hayloft a peaceful haven away from our hectic 'real life' and we enjoyed the homely touches...

    Mandy & Roy, Hayloft, February 2016
  • What a perfect place to spend Valentine's weekend!  Romance, peace, quiet & pampering in abundance!  'Amazing' doesn't even cut it for this place...Evenings spent by the log fire, getting cosy in the cubby hole with the lights dimmed...letting the world drift away, soaking in that tub by candlelight; I defy anyone to come here for the weekend and not feel utterly at peace!  Every little details has been thought about and it's the little touches that make this place feel really luxurious!

    Amber & Ben, Bothy, February 2016
  • A full, fun, educational and tasty day today - great fun learning all the recipes, and seeing (tasting!) the results.  Laughed lots and ended up with tonnes of baked goods...yum!!. I'm sure I'll be back again.

    Stephen, Boozy Breads, December 2015
  • We've had such a wonderful relaxing week, as usual everything we could possibly have wanted has been provided & it really does feel like a home away from home!  Thank you for your hospitality, we can't wait to come back!

    Catherine & Joe, Hayloft, January 2016
  • Thanks ever so much for a lovely stay in  your beautiful Hayloft...

    Jen & Ollie, Hayloft, February 2016
  • We loved the Bothy and all the delicious treats that were left by Sherry.  Really good to see natural products being used throughout and showcasing local products.

    Mark & Tabitha, Bothy
  • An unexpected find and what an absolute pleasure to stay here!  Sherry has thought of everything from welcome hampers, to soaps to detailed information about places to visit!

    John & Tracy, Hayloft
  • Feeling truly inspired following my beginner's bread courses and excited about making my own creations at home.

    Rachel, Bread Making for Beginners
  • If all self-catering holidays were like this, we'd never do anything else!  The luxury and thoughtfulness helped us make the most of a short break.  We've also converted to the delights of Lincolnshire

    Carol & Alan, Bothy
  • Loved it here!  I think this may be our favourite part of the UK - seems to offer everything!  And the Hayloft is wonderful - also seems to offer everything! Thanks, Sherry, for making this a wonderful ending to our trip - I don't think anyone can "top" your hospitality. This visit to Lincolnshire has truly been an unexpected joy.

    Peta & Wally (Canada), Hayloft
  • This is the most wonderful place we have ever stayed in.  You have gone to so much effort to make the Hayloft a warm cosy retreat.  Everything has been through of....  Like straight out of a magazine...

    Ansgar & Selena, Hayloft
  • This was our first time in Lincolnshire and we were left wondering why we've never been before.  We loved the wide open spaces and empty roads! ...

    Laura & Graham, Bothy
  • ...The Hayloft is luxurious and yet eco-friendly...We just love coming here year after year...

    Liz, Louise, & Ruby, Hayloft
  • Super day - certainly learnt a lot and made an amazing amount of different breads!!  Thanks Sherry, you are a great teacher!

    Helen, Bread Making day for Beginners
  • Our third time in the Bothy; a wonderful few days of autumn sunshine.  Walks on the Fens, the Wolds and along the beach.

    Cathy & Bill, Bothy
  • Another great stay.  Beautiful walks in the day and cosy nights with the wood burner.

    Michael & Christine, Hayloft
  • We have made the Hayloft our annual treat to escape and chill.  This is our 4th visit now and each time we love it more...

    Tracey, Shaun, Andrea & John, Hayloft
  • Sherry's sausages, roast vegetables, apple crumble and cream were delicious on our first evening - so would highly recommend the first evening meal.

  • Another wonderful stay at the Bothy.  Wish I could take it everywhere I go on holiday.

  • A thoroughly relaxing & enjoyable day!  Lots of fun coupled with many scrummy homemade treats to take home.  A very warm welcome.  You can tell Sherry is extremely passionate about what she teaches.  Thank you!

    Laura, Simply Bread & Jam, July 2015
  • A delightful day, I thoroughly enjoyed myself & learned so much.  Good company, good food – a great day.  Many thanks, Sherry.

    Sheila May 2015
  • What a lovely way to spend a relaxing enjoyable day.  Sherry is welcoming and very knowledgeable.  A great host.  I loved it, and I have a bag of goodies to take home along with lots of new knowledge.  Thank you. 

    Jane, Chocolate Making Day, May 2015 May 2015
  • What a fantastic day – fabulous lunch and learnt loads.  Thank you Sherry. 

    Cathie, Chocolate Making day, Maay 2015
  • Had an amazing day!  The finished products looked amazing! Hospitality was brilliant, fantastic lunch.  Thank you. 

    Pam, Chocolate Making Day, May 2015
  • Amazing Day!  I learnt lots about chocolate making and really enjoyed the whole day! 

    Kimberley, Chocolate Making Day, May 2015
  • Mike thoroughly enjoyed the bread making and is already planning what he is going to make at home!! 

    Amanda, Bread Making Day for Beginners, May 2015 May 2015
  • I had a very enjoyable, informative, fun time at the Beginner’s Bread making course.  Sherry was a very enthusiastic teacher and host.  I learned lots of tips and useful information to improve my bread making.  Thank you. 

    Catherine, Bread Making Day for Beginners, May 2015 May 2015
  • Amazing - couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our Anniversary.  Many thanks for all the little extras, we will definitely be back!

    H & A B November, 2008
  • Exceeded all expectations.  A beautiful place, a wonderful welcome & the basket of treats really was the icing on the cake!...

    J & I December 2008
  • I had forgotten what it felt like to be so relaxed. This place has a wonderful energy about it.

    C 2009
  • There is a unique & special warmth about this wonderful place that we shall never forget.

    C & P November 2009
  • We have had such a lovely, peaceful, quiet time - just what we needed!  The Bothy is everything we hoped it would be and more besides!  Your friendliness and attention to detail make this a jewel in Lincolnshire's crown!  Our perfect place away from home.  Thank you.

    K & D February 2010
  • Loved it here!  I think this may be our favorite part of the UK - seems to offer everything!  And the Hayloft is wonderful - also seems to offer everything!  Thanks, Sherry, for making this a wonderful ending to our trip - I don't think anyone can 'top' your hospitality.  This visit to Lincolnshire has truly been an unexpected joy.

    P & W October 2011
  • Impressive!  Quite unique.  Just thank you so much for your kindness.  The place is unforgettable and you are special!

    D & C January 2012
  • After a day researching Romantic Weekend breaks, I found the perfect Retreat in the 'Manor House Hayloft'.  Colin and I have not stopped smiling since we arrived.  We have not been disappointed with anything, the accommodation is warm and welcoming just like the owners.  We are looking forward to returning...

    P & C April 2012
  • It has to be said that the Manor House Stables are one of the best kept hidden gems in Lincolnshire.  Tucked away from the hustle and bustle, you feel like you have escaped to a place of relaxation and tranquility

    L & L September 2012
  • Luxury and comfort, warmth and peacefulness, all rolled together and bound with consideration, and a lovely welcome.  Thank you, we've loved it.

    K & C October 2012
  • Came for our honeymoon and what a great place, everything wonderful including our first night meal.  Wow, what can I say about that bath!

    V & G December 2012
  • Our stay was absolutely perfect for our anniversary getaway!  I am now in love with the 'snug' and the gorgeous bath!  Thank you for all the kind gifts you gave us, and the wine was simply delicious!  ... I love the eco-friendly feel to the place!  Very Cool!

    A & J April 2013
  • This is the most wonderful place we have ever stayed in.  You have gone to so much effort to make the Hayloft a warm and cosy retreat.

    A & S May 2013
  • Our time at the Hayloft has been wonderful from start to finish.  We have not wanted for anything!  The hamper, vegetables etc are just fabulous - Sherry has thought of everything.  Thank you!!  It's been a lovely part of the country to visit - made even better by having our base here.

    C & R June 2013
  • Sherry, thank you so much for making me feel so welcome and for all your help with my family tree research.  I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Bothy.  I couldn't have asked for a more delightful place to stay.

    L September 2013
  • What a wonderful place to stay.  Time must move differently here because it feels like we've only just arrived and yet now it's time to leave.  We have loved the log burner, snuggling up in the cave bed and taking long soaks in the wonderful bath.  Our visit was extra special as we got engaged!  We couldn't think of a better setting.

    S & H December 2013
  • I don't think we have ever left a vacation feeling so mellow and relaxed.  Thank you for all the thoughtful things you had awaiting us on our arrival and for the beautiful country sanctuary you have created.

    D & R January 2014
  • We have had such a lazy, cosy, warm, relaxing week!  We came away for a post-Christmas time-out and that's exactly what we got.  The Hayloft had everything we needed and more...it was the extra touches (the veggies, the flowers, the snug, the sauna, the welcome basket etc) that make the Hayloft stand out compared to other places we've stayed.

    S & C January 2014
  • The bathroom is amazing!  I would have quite happily spent the whole 3 days in there!

    C & B February 2014
  • What a wonderful relaxing few days we have had!  We felt at home as soon as we unlocked the door - all the little touches made this extra special.  The food was all yummy and the welcome card a lovely touch.

    H, N & E March 2014
  • We can't recommend this place highly enough.  What a fantastic few days, so relaxing and peaceful.  We received a very warm welcome on our arrival, everything was perfect from the card and flowers on the table to the welcome trug, log fire, romantic lights in the bathroom, just an all round wonderful feeling to the whole place that made us feel relaxed and at home from the moment we walked through the door.

    S & J March 2014
  • Wonderful from start to finish!  The perfect place to celebrate our engagement.

    L & N April 2014
  • Wonderful, warm and cosy here in the Bothy.  We have had a lovely very relaxing time and will recommend to friends & family.  Superb evening meal on our first night, very yummy!  Peace & quiet with beautiful bird song. BLISS!

    A & M April 2014
  • Thanks for a wonderful break; the Stables are an absolute haven of peace and tranquility.  All of the 'extras' supplied were of a lovely quality and were much appreciated!

    D, S, B & J May 2014
  • We always said we'd come back without children - and five years later we did!  It was as gorgeous as the first time.  The first night meal was such a treat and the apple crumble is to die for!  Thank you!

    G & J August 2014
  • This was our 3rd time staying in the Bothy and it didn't disappoint.  It was the perfect weekend getaway, where you can just relax and unwind.  Sherry's first night meal is a must, a lovely meal and plenty to spare!  The hamper is always a real treat and the little touches make staying here such an individual stay.

    L, L & R August 2014
  • Our third here at the Bothy (and 3 times in the Hayloft!); a wonderful few days of autumn sunshine. Walks on the Fens, the Wolds and along the beach. The garden here is a perfect sun trap, warm enough to enjoy breakfast each morning. I love the warmth and distinctive smell here - it will keep bringing us back to the perfect place for recovery.  Thank you, as always... PS The flowers were beautiful!

    C & B September 2015
  • The Bothy is quiet, cosy and quirky.

    T & C October 2015
  • From a bottle of wine to bath robes - we really could not have wanted for anything else!  The highlight might have been the bath - it was amazing!!!!  The Bothy really and truly exceeded our expectations and we could not have imagined how delightful a stay it could be!

    L & E November 2015
  • Practically Perfect in Every Way...  Thank you.

    C & C November 2014
  • We have made the Hayloft our annual treat to escape and chill.  This is our 4th visit now and each time we love it more.

    T, S, J & A December 2015
  • Wow - what an amazing time we have had.  Stumbled across this gem on tripadvisor and you deserve all of the praise you get & more!

    S & C February 2015
  • The Bothy was such a lovely place to 'chill' and relax!  Thank you for making our stay a home from home, with all little extra touches added in!  The first night dinner was super and the crumble was amazing!!

    S & I February 2015
  • The Hayloft is simply beautiful, so peaceful & cosy.  We spent the days visiting Woodhall Spa and walking and the nights drinking wine by the log burner playing board games, not to mention soaking in that AMAZING bath!!!

    G & T February 2015
  • After months planning a wedding, this has been the perfect relaxing honeymoon we were after.  The entire week has been wonderful...

    S & P March 2015

Reviews

On this page you will find a selection of excerpts from press articles that have been published in national magazines, about the Manor House Stables and what we have to offer.

  • Top 3 Ways to Explore Lincolnshire's Great Outdoors. "...Around half way along the trail, in the village of Martin, Manor House Stables is the perfect place for a little luxury at the end of your walk. The18th Century restored stable block contains two self catering properties. Beautifully appointed, the accommodation is warm and romantic with wood burning stoves, spa baths and a luxury hamper of local produce to refuel you after your long day."  A Luxury Travel Blog, September 2015

    A Luxury Travel Blog September 2016
  • Top 10 Hotels in the Autumn in the UK.  "An often overlooked county, Lincolnshire has a wild coastline, Georgian market towns and significant wartime airfields (the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre is at RAF Coningsby) that offer much to the off-season tourist. Manor House Stables is made up of two self-catering apartments, the Hayloft (which sleeps up to four) and the Bothy (for two)....Owner Sherry Forbes has thought of everything - from eco-friendly paints and organic wool mattresses to a welcome hamper that includes garden vegetables. You'll wonder why you've never heard of this place before.."  Sally Shalam, Conde Naste Traveller Magazine

    Sally Shalam, Conde Naste Traveller Magazine October 2011
  • "The Manor House Stables outside the village of Martin in Lincolnshire is an eco-friendly, self-catering retreat where you can simply relax or learn a new skill..."

    Country Living Magazine February 2012
  • Spotlight on: Manor House Stables.  "As we pulled up to the picture postcard sight of the Manor House Stables the first sign of sound eco credentials was evident by the layer of snow settled firmly on the roof, a sure sign of good insulation. Any fears that this was down to inadequate heating for the freezing temperatures were quickly abated as we were greeted by the cosy warmth of the Hayloft, warmth rivalled only by our hostess, Sherry’s, welcome. First impressions were of a beautifully decorated, luxurious and immaculate interior. It quickly became clear that this was a result of Sherry’s passion for using good quality in everything with a view to longevity and minimum waste. Closer inspection revealed that there is barely a shred of plastic to be found. This is a material far out of favour with Sherry and Irven, both trained biologists who know only too well the environmental damage plastic waste can do. We were delighted to have the opportunity to read about how the renovation was achieved using eco and traditional materials in the glossy book provided, details of this amazing project can also be found on their website. The heart of the home, and we did feel right at home, is without doubt the lovely wood burning stove which we found complete with expertly made fire ready to light and a plentiful supply of logs (sustainably sourced of course!). The ideal welcome for weary travellers on a cold night was the lovely hamper of local produce and goodies, some as local as the splendid garden just outside! This continued to fresh bread and a fridge stocked with free range eggs, local sausages and organic milk. And what a fridge, had Sherry not pointed it out we might have gone on thinking it was just a beautiful antique cabinet. Luxury abounded but cleverly intertwined were eco measures at every turn, recycling, composting, energy saving light bulbs, insulation to rival any modern building that kept it too warm to light the wood burner for a full 10 hours from turning off the heating despite the sub zero temperatures outside. Having lit the stove we were then able to use the oven above to cook perfect pizzas in record time after which we snuggled up in the charming nook in the living room which doubles as an additional sleeping area for larger groups or families". Hello Ecoliving, January 2011

    Hello Ecoliving January 2011
  • Lavender..."For Martin woman Sherry Forbes, her new business venture would prove a stark contrast from her previous life as a marine biologist. It was also one that has seen the enthusiastic woman transform a dilapidated farmhouse and barn into a stunning country home and adjacent stable block in which Sherry is hosting courses and workshops to revive forgotten country crafts... 'The subjects are varied, but there’s a distinct commonality.' says Sherry. 'All of the courses at Manor House Stables involve making things, and employing simple domestic skills that we’ve forgotten about...But what’s important for the time being is that participants feel enabled and have a go at creating some products for themselves. It’s very rewarding...' Those who wish to stay in the beautiful accommodation are treated to fresh local Lincolnshire produce, a welcome trug of jams, cheeses and chutneys, and apple wine, as well as exceptional, unique accommodation. Below the hayloft, meanwhile, the craft rooms and a small kitchen area allow visitors to take part in around 15 different courses each year, all based around forgotten country skills. All of the courses and workshops reflect a commitment to using natural materials and ingredients, combined with traditional skills and crafts.” Lincolnshire Pride, 2015  

    Lincolnshire Pride
  • 'Loved up in Lincolnshire'.  "Romance with a touch of luxury, that's what you get at the Manor House Stables on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, just 20 minutes' drive from historic Lincoln.  This award-winning 18th century stables conversion offers the Hayloft and the Bothy, cosy​ self-catering retreats with log burner, under-floor heating, exposed beams and stunning bathtubs.  Couples can also book personalised country craft or cookery courses such as baking bread or making jam, and owner Sherry Forbes provides all guests with an indulgent hamper of local produce."

    My Weekly February 2016
  • 10 top UK green breaks. A twin renovation of former farm stables, the Bothy and Hayloft at Manor House Farm in the village of Martin offers guests a comfortable, rural hideaway. The self-catering apartments have retained their original features such as exposed beams and stalls. A local building firm used environmentally-friendly materials such as natural paints and varnishes, lime plaster and hemp insulation. The authentic touches are enhanced by wood-burning stoves and intriguing bath tubs - one made from wood, the other from copper. The Guardian, July 2008

    The Guardian July 2008
  • Cool Holiday cottages in Lincolnshire.  "Within easy day-tripping distance of Lincoln and its cathedral, this cottage forms part of a sensitively converted 18th-century stable block, with a limecrete and recycled glass floor, wood pellet boiler and underfloor heating …It's great for couples, with a large bedroom, wood-burning stove and deep copper bath. And though it really sleeps two, if you fall out, or have children in tow, there's a box bed in the living room that will squeeze in two more." The Guardian, July 2013

    The Guardian July 2013
  • Eco and Friendly. "This self-catering converted stable takes its eco-credentials seriously, but there's no skimping on comfort... Sherry is evidently proud of her achievements on the sustainability front – she has a gold award from the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Solar panels and a wood pellet boiler provide hot water and heating, insulating materials include cotton and hemp, something called Pavatex made from sawmill by-products, and a floor-screeding concoction involving limecrete and recycled glass. Paints and woodstains are from a German company which uses citrus essential oils as solvent – so Sherry did the decorating in an orange-scented haze. Ensconced, it's as though we have arrived at a friend's weekend mountain cabin in upstate New York. Our "loft" has sloping ceilings, solid pine floor (sustainable source, natch), and is open plan from the hallway into a kitchen-dining room and sitting area, which also has the unusual addition of a box bed (like the traditional Welsh kind) built in at the far end, behind the sofa... The fridge is hidden in a freestanding cherrywood cabinet, an admirable piece of furniture even without the contents (Lincolnshire chipolatas, juice, cider, eggs, cheese). Sherry has left us veg from the garden, and sumptuous edibles in a wooden trug beside a jug of sunflowers on the table – her own-label apple wine, jams and chutney, homemade bread and eggs – and vegan champagne truffles ..." Sally Shalam, the Guardian

    Sally Shalam, The Guardian 3rd October 2009
  • The 50 Best holiday cottages.  “Play Mary Berry in this eco-friendly hayloft: take part in a jam making or chocolate course, bake cakes on the little range and create a feast from the generous welcome trug, which spills over with jams, cheeses, chutneys, plum loaf, raspberry wine, vegetables and herbs.”  The Independent, May 2013

    The Independent May 2013
  • 50 best cottages in Britain. "Increasingly, self-catering properties are offering add-on activities.  This two-bedroom loft is an award-winning conversion of 18th century stables, log-burning stoves, exposed beams and deep-soaking copper bath.  It runs country craft and cookery courses including bread baking and bath-product making.  A welcome hamper includes chocolates, wine, plum bread, Lincolnshire sausages and organic free-range eggs."

    The Times February 2016
  • "These 18th-century stables in the heart of rural Lincolnshire have been converted into two snug, stylish holiday homes using eco-friendly materials and traditional methods..."

    The Times October 2011
  • "Lincolnshire is getting greener this spring...Sherry Forbes is aiming to get the county on the green map with her recently opened self catering accommodation...The luxuriously converted 18th-centruy stable block has already won a Green Tourism Gold award....With a commitment to all things local, Sherry is also a member of Tastes of Lincolnshire - her generous welcome hamper includes local sausages, cheese and home-grown veg..."

    Waitrose Food Illustrated Magazine March 2010
  • "Luxury goodies and eco-credentials are piled equally high in this converted 18th-century stable block near quaint Woodhall Spa and historic Lincoln.  It's a self-catering retreat for two or three, where an antique organic-mattressed bed competes for attention with a hi-tech shower, and a welcome hamper groans with homemade jam, wine and organic veg..."

    Woman and Home Magazine March 2010
The Bothy (2+1)
The Bothy (2+1)

Warm and romantic with a luxury hamper and other lovely touches. A wood-burning stove, wooden soaking tub and welcome hamper make the Bothy a special place for that perfect break away.

The Hayloft (2+2)
The Hayloft (2+2)

A lovely retreat with a wood-burning stove and lots of extras. The peaceful bedroom, box bed and deep copper spa bath are special places for relaxation – all perfect ingredients for a break away.

Courses
Courses

Cottage craft and cookery courses. Learn skills, be inspired and meet new people. Courses range from bread making to beekeeping, cheese to chocolate making and crocheting to clay creations… and more!